Amsterdam Centre for Ancient Studies and Archaeology

Staff

Academic staff of VU and UvA affilliated with ACASA in alphabetical order.


dr. J.G. (Joris) Aarts
Provinciaal-Romeinse archeologie, Antieke Numismatiek.
j.g.aarts@vu.nl
 

dr. S.M. (Suzanne) Adema
Latin linguistics: tense usage, narrative structure, speech and thought representation.
Latin and Greek as school subjects in the Dutch curriculum: reflection on language and culture, language acquisition, reading process, translating process, interpretation process.
s.m.adema@uva.nl


dr. mr. R. J. (Rutger) Allan
Griekse (diachronische en synchronische) taalkunde.
r.j.allan@vu.nl


dr. M.P. (Mathieu) de Bakker
Herodotus, Thucydides, Atheense redenaars.
m.p.debakker@uva.nl
 

dr. R. (Rients) de Boer
Ancient History
r.de.boer@vu.nl
 

S. (Susanne) Borowski MA
PhD project Martial Women in ancient heroic epic.
s.borowski@uva.nl


prof. dr. G.J. (Gerard) Boter
Tekstoverlevering, -editie en interpretatie van Griekse filosofische auteurs, m.n. Plato, Epictetus en Philostratus.
g.j.boter@vu.nl


P.J. (Pieter) van den Broek MA
PhD project Mirroring texts: embedded narratives in the Flavian epic.
p.j.vandenbroek@uva.nl


prof. dr. G.L.M. (Gert-Jan) Burgers
Landschappen, ruimtelijke ordening en erfgoed van Protohistorisch en Romeins Italië.
gjl.burgers@let.vu.nl


dr. C. (Chiara) Cavallo
Zooarcheaology.
c.cavallo@uva.nl


dr. J.P. (Jan Paul) Crielaard
Archeologie van Griekenland (ca. 1200-500 v.Chr.); Griekse kolonisatie en overzeese contacten; Homerische archeologie.
jp.crielaard@vu.nl


dr. A.M.J. (Ton)  Derks
Romeinse archeologie; Latijnse epigrafie.
a.m.j.derks@vu.nl


dr. M.F.P. (Menno) Dijkstra
UvA field archaeologist and keeper of documentation and depot
m.f.p.dijkstra@uva.nl


drs. M.L. (Maja) d'Hollosy
Physical anthropologist research.
m.l.dhollosy@uva.nl


A. (Aniek) van den Eersten MA
PhD research on the influence of poets on metaphorical language in Herodotus.
a.vandeneersten@uva.nl


prof. dr. J. (Jesper) Eidem
West Asian Archaeology.
j.eidem@uva.nl


drs. A.D. (Anja) Fischer
Paleobotany.
a.d.fischer@uva.nl


dr. J.J. (Jaap-Jan) Flinterman
De Griekse wereld in de eerste eeuwen van onze jaartelling.
j.j.flinterman@vu.nl


prof. dr. J.H.G. (Jerzy) Gawronski
Maritime and Urban Archaeology of the Late Middle Ages and Early Modern Period, in particular of the city of Amsterdam.
j.h.g.gawronski@uva.nl


dr. P.S. (PIet) Gerbrandy
Classical and Medieval Latin.
p.s.gerbrandy@uva.nl


dr. L.W. (Lidewij) van Gils
Roman rhetorical and historiographical text of first century BC and AD. 
l.w.van.gils@vu.nl
 

prof. dr. M. (Marijke) Gnade
Archaeology of pre-Roman Cultures in Central Italy, settlement archaeology, burial archaeology, social identities, material studies, archaeological practices.
m.gnade@uva.nl


prof. dr. W. (Wouter) Goris
Classical metaphysics.
w.goris@vu.nl
 

prof. dr. R.B. (Bas) ter Haar Romeny
Ancient history of the Mediterranean and the Near East.
bas.ter.haarromeny@vu.nl


prof. dr. J.J.M. (Joost) Hazenbos
Professor by special appointment of Hittite and related Anatolian languages and cultures as well as the history of Asia Minor and the preclassical period.
j.j.m.hazenbos@uva.nl


dr. S. (Stijn) Heeren
Archaeology of rural habitation in the Dutch river area in the Late Iron Age, Roman period and Early Middle Ages.
s.heeren@vu.nl


dr. M.A.J. (Mark) Heerink
Hellenistic Greek and Roman poetry.
m.a.j.heerink@uva.nl

 

E.D. (Elon) Heijmans MA
e.d.heijmans@uva.nl


prof. E.A. (Emily) Hemelrijk
The Roman Empire, especially women and gender, Roman families, and Roman cities in Italy and the western provinces.
e.a.hemelrijk@uva.nl


prof. dr. J.W. ( Jan Willem) van Henten
Uitlegging van het nieuwe testament, de vroeg-christelijke letterkunde en de joods-hellenistische literatuur.
j.w.vanhenten@uva.nl

 

dr. M. (Martijn) Icks
Political and cultural history of the Roman Empire, esp. the representation and perception of imperial power; the reception of antiquity.
m.icks@uva.nl

prof. dr. I.J.F. (Irene)  de Jong
Ancient Greek narrative, especially epic (Homer), historiography (Herodotus), and narrative in drama; narrative theory; history of narrative techniques (from antiquity to the modern European novel); combination of narratology and linguistics.
i.j.f.dejong@uva.nl
 

dr. K. (Kristin) Kleber
History of the Ancient Near East, in particular the social, legal and economic history of Babylonia in the 1st millennium BCE.
k.kleber@vu.nl


dr. S.J. (Sjoerd) Kluiving
Earth Sciences in Landscape Archaeology, particularly interdisciplinary research in the disciplines of Archaeology, Historical Geography and Geology.
s.j.kluiving@vu.nl


dr. M.H. (Mieke) Koenen
Receptie van de Klassieke Oudheid in de moderne Nederlandse poëzie, en Lucretius het Latijnse leerdicht.
mh.koenen@vu.nl


R.A.E. (Raphaëlle-Anne) Kok-Merlino MA
PhD research Collective Identities and Socio-Cultural Dynamics in a Frontier Zone - the Necropolis of Melfi-Pisciolo.
r.a.e.kok@uva.nl


dr. N. (Niels) Koopman
Ancient Greek ekphrasis: Between description and narration.
n.koopman1@uva.nl


prof. dr. C.H.M (Caroline)  Kroon
Latin Functional Discourse Grammar.
c.h.m.kroon@uva.nl


dr. H. (Heleen) van Londen
Landscape archaeology & field archaeology; Roman archaeology of the Northern Provinces; Archaeological Heritage Management & Heritage.
h.vanlonden@uva.nl


dr. P.S. (Patricia) Lulof
Terracotta roof decoration in Central Italy, Archaic sanctuaries and architecture, Digital humanities and cultural heritage (3-4D reconstructions), Etruscan archaeology, Visual culture and iconology, Gender and Religion in Antiquity.
p.s.lulof@uva.nl


prof. dr. M. (Marije) Martijn
Ancient and Patristic Philosophy
m.martijn@vu.nl

A. (Anna) Meens MA
PhD research on the Greek countryside in the Classical and early Hellenistic period.
a.meens@uva.nl


M. (Matteo) Merlino MA
PhD research on The City Anatomy: Spatial Dimensions of Urban Societies. Reconceptualising the Ancient Urban Cityscape in Bronze Age Central Syria.
m.merlino@uva.nl


dr. E.M. (Emilie)  van Opstall
Greek literature, from the Imperial up to the Middle-Byzantine period (poetry, prose, ecphrasis): text edition, interpretation, translation.
e.m.van.opstall@vu.nl
 

dr. A. (Mieke) Prent
Late Bronze Age and Early Iron Age, Crete, Perioikic Laconia, Greek religion and cult.
a.prent@vu.nl
 

dr. S.M.J. (Sofie) Remijsen
Social and cultural history from the Hellenistic period to Late Antiquity, esp. sport and spectacles, Greco-Roman Egypt
s.m.j.remijsen@uva.nl


dr. J. (Hans) Renes
Antiquity
j.renes@vu.nl


drs. B.C. Ridderhof
West European Archaeology
b.c.ridderhof@vu.nl

dr. D. (David) Rijser
Art and literature in Renaissance, Raphael's poetics.
d.rijser@uva.nl


dr. R. (Rodie) Risselada
Latin Linguistics  and Historiography.
r.risselada@uva.nl


prof. dr. N.G.A.M. (Nico) Roymans
Field archaeology and landscape archaeology; the archaeology of Celto-Germanic societies and their integration into the Roman empire; ethnicity and ethnogenesis in the Roman empire; Late Iron Age coinage.
n.g.a.m.roymans@vu.nl


dr. E. (Liesbeth) Smits
Physical Anthropology.
e.smits@uva.nl


dr. C.H.C.M. (Caroline) Vander Stichele
Cultural impact of biblical characters and images and on the rhetoric of gender in early christian literature.
c.h.c.m.vanderstichele@uva.nl


prof. dr V.V. (Vladimir) Stissi
Greek pottery, landscape and survey archaeology, material culture of sanctuaries, visual culture, history of archaeology, household archaeology, Archaeological heritage in the contemporary world.
v.v.stissi@uva.nl


prof. J. (James) Symonds
Professor of Historical Archaeology (North of the Alps). Archaeology of the modern world (c.AD 1450-present) and includes work on capitalism, colonialism, landscapes of improvement and diaspora, urban and industrial archaeology, and the archaeology of poverty.
J.Symonds2@uva.nl


dr. J.W.H.P. (Philip) Verhagen
Predictive modelling, GIS and spatial analysis, statistics, computing in archaeology, archaeological survey, archaeological heritage management, landscape archaeology.
j.w.h.p.verhagen@vu.nl


dr. A.A.A. (Arno)  Verhoeven
Development of exchange systems during the Middle Ages, ceramic production and consumption, rural and urban settlement systems from Late Antiquity to the Early and High Middle Ages.
a.a.a.verhoeven@uva.nl


dr. N.M. (Nienke) Vos
Oudchristelijke hagiografie, oudchristelijke exegese.
n.m.vos@vu.nl


J. (Jitte) Waagen MA
Computational Archaeology Specialist.
j.waagen@uva.nl


dr. G.J.M. (Gert Jan) van Wijngaarden
Material interconnections in the pre- and protohistoric Mediterranean, landscape archaeology in the Ionian Islands (Greece), Archaeological heritage in the contemporary world, history of Archaeology.
g.j.m.vanwijngaarden@uva.nl


S. (Samantha) Ximeri MSc
PhD research on pottery from the island of Crete, Greece. Thesis title: Cretan storage vessels (pithoi) from Antiquity to Post-Modernity.
s.ximeri@uva.nl


prof. dr.  D. G. (Douwe) Yntema
Regional archaeology of southeastern Italy (present-day regions of Apulia and Basilicata). The research concerns a wide range of topics: from pottery studies to Romanization and from Greek colonization to landscape archaeology.
d.g.yntema@vu.nl

 

Gepubliceerd door  ACASA

21 augustus 2017